Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in State College, Pennsylvania, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA, 16801, United States of America
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.2
Very good549 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Economy Hotel
Rated top 4% in State College
  • 9.4Location
    • Great location
  • 9.3Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 9.1Value
    • Best value for money
  • 8.1Food
    • Delicious food
Show more

What guests say

  • Friendly service
  • Clean hotel facilities
  • Hotel buildings could use some improvement
  • Rooms need regular maintenance

Narrow reviews:

549 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 8, 2020
Clean and comfortable. Good location close to the university. Staff was accommodating to changes in my schedule.
Dale1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. I also am happy to hear that you received quality service. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 29, 2020
Friendly staff and clean rooms
The clerk was very friendly and respectful. The rooms was clean and had all the essentials properly working.
Jenely2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and received friendly service from the Front Desk. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Thank you.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
Staff at check in was sincerely pleasant and knowledgeable.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received quality service by the Front Desk Agent. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 11, 2020
It was very comfortable, safe, and clean. Friendly staff.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
Track & Field 'states'
The hotel was new and very clean!!! I would have liked to see some type of 'eggs' at the breakfast, perhaps hard boiled.
Victoria1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you.
6.0GoodCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
Everything was fine although I had the feeling that we were one of 2 other guests at the hotel. It felt like everyone else lived there.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
Thank you for staying with us. We were almost 3/4's full on the time of your arrival. We do have regular guests that stay here. I am happy that everything went fine for you and hope you will come again in the future. Thank you for the feedback.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
Had a great stay!
It was a pleasant experience. Check in and check out was smooth.
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you received quality service at the Front Desk. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you!
6.0GoodCheck-in Mar 5, 2020
nice breakfast atmosphere
The staff people who greeted us at check-in and the morning of check-out were wonderful, especially the woman who was on staff at continental breakfast... coffee great, hot and plentiful... very pleasant staff and very nice dining area.
Jack1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Management
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you received quality service at check in and during free breakfast. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you for the feedback.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
The only thing I would have changed was the wallpaper by the elevator on the second floor was coming off the wall a bit and there was no cinnamon or raisins for the oatmeal at breakfast. Otherwise, it was the perfect experience!!!
1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you or staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will mention the wallpaper to our Head of Maintenance. Thank you
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
relaxing and comfortable
It was very good and enjoyed our stay. very comfortable
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 21, 2020
Close to Penn State facilities. Easily accessible.
1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you found the location to be convenient and that you received quality service. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Thank you for the feedback.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
Trip was good!! Hotel is a little dated but really clean. Bed was cozy and hotel staff helpful. They have breakfast in the lobby and an ihop in the parking lot so we choose that instead. Attended Penn State/Ohio state wrestling match.
Ronald1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that your received quality service from staff. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 6, 2020
Perfectly fine.
mark1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. We appreciate the kind feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you coming again in the future.
4.0FairCheck-in Jan 29, 2020
Not the greatest stay
I stayed at the super 8 because I have a work event going on at the hotel. I was very disappointed with the room the bed was not comfortable with the old scratchy drapery style bedding. What I particularly found inconvenient was the lack of a bedside light and accessible outlets. The hallway smelled terribly like cigarette smoke and the soda machine on the floor didn't work. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant .
Melissa1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Management
I apologize that you did not have a good stay with us. I am sorry that the bed was not comfortable and I will bring up the issues regarding the sheets and bedside light. I also am very sorry that the hallway smelled of smoke and I will have this taken care of right away. Thank you for the feedback and all your issues will be brought up to the General Manager.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 12, 2020
Repeat Hotel Guest
Staff was nice and accommodating to our request of a quiet room with 2 Beds. We like the breakfast spread. Staff was friendly and helpful. Place is clean and hotel location is convenient to University. This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel.
Esmeralda1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received quality service from the staff. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 15, 2020
The breakfast was just so so. The water wasn't hot enough for tea.
1 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I apologize that you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast and that the water was not hot. I will bring your issues to the attention of our General Manager. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 21, 2019
Location was perfect. The staff wonderful and helpful. Only issues are dogs in rooms barking and the smell outside the door is awful. One other is the very limited breakfast. The waffle maker need replaced or seasoned. Couldn’t get the waffles out in one piece because they’d stick badly.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and that you received quality service. I will bring up the issue regarding the waffle maker. I hope you will with us again in the future. Thank you for the feedback.
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 20, 2019
Accommodating staff. Very comfortable bed and awesome shower. Heating unit was noisy and there was no iron or ironing board on the room. There wasn’t enough seating at breakfast so some families carried their food back to their rooms.
SL1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you received quality service and thought our beds were comfortable. We do have iron and ironing boards at the front desk for guest use.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 20, 2019
People were nice. Carpet needs to be replaced.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that there was issues with the carpet. I will bring this to the attention of our Maintenance department. I am happy that you received quality service. I hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 7, 2019
Quiet, convenient and pleasant. I'm going to try to stay there the next time I get to State College.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 7, 2019
We love the Satie College Super 8! It is very clean and the beds are super comfy and cozy. Thank you again to the staff for a great visit!
Lisa1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am delighted to hear that you love our property and found it to be comfortable. We at the Super 8 look forward to your next stay! Thank you for the great feedback.
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
Bathroom had mold on ceiling. The room overall had a dirty smell. My son and i did not even take a shower due to the mold on the bathroom ceiling.
Glen1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan Williams
I apologize that you had issues while staying at our property. It is unacceptable that the room had a dirty smell and mold on the ceiling. I will be bringing this to the attention of the General Manager and Executive Housekeeper. Please rest assured the problem will be fixed. If you decide to come to State College again, contact me directly and I will take 25% off your rate. Thank you.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
It was perfect for our stay. Decorated so cute with the Penn State theme and the staff was so nice.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought the decor was good. Look forward to you staying again in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
It was nice. Staff was very welcoming.
Peter1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super by Wyndham in State College. We appreciate the kind feedback and are happy to hear that the staff was welcoming. We look forward to you coming again in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 29, 2019
Great property! Staff very friendly. Prices are great as long as there is not a Penn State Football game on the weekend. Breakfast is good as well.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received friendly service. We look forward to you coming again in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 27, 2019
The drain from the sink was partly clogged preventing easy drainage of the water when brushing teeth. Otherwise everything was very good. The IHOP restaurant across the parking lot was nice too
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize about the issue with the sink and I will bring this to the attention of the Head Maintenance Individual. We look forward to you staying again in the future. Thank you
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 16, 2019
Nice Place-but over priced on football weekend
Check in---awesome Cleanliness of room---awesome Noise levels through walls and doors---not the best Breakfast offered---mediocre (selection not great) Seating for breakfast---poor (not adequate space) Price during a Penn State football game---ridiculously high
Stacey1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Management
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that you did need the breakfast. I apologize that you thought our rate was high. Many hotel in the State College area sell for over 1,000 a night for a two minimum so we try to keep it reasonable. Hope you will come again in future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 15, 2019
Great hotel for the price on a football weekend
Great hotel for the price on a Penn State football weekend. Clean and comfortable hotel with a friendly and helpful staff.
Kenneth2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received quality service. We look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 15, 2019
Conveniently located to many things around Penn State.. Clean, nice size rooms and pet friendly!
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room to be clean and took advantage of us being pet friendly. We look forward to you coming again soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 15, 2019
Was nice a quiet a check in was easy. No issues!!
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received quality service during check in. I also am glad that you had no issues. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 14, 2019
Very happy
friendly service, very clean room would stay there again
Chad1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 11, 2019
Liked the value for the price. Have used this property a number of times.
Rick1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again soon. Thank you!
4.0FairCheck-in Nov 8, 2019
The gym wasn't working, no shower gel or shampoo, just a soap, poor heat system, very thin walls, and a lot of noise at all hours, terrible mattresses and pillows, poor breakfast.
Asya2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unacceptable that there was no shampoo in your room and that the heating system did not work properly. I also am sorry that you did not enjoy our free breakfast, mattresses or pillows. I will be bringing all these issues to the attention of the General Manager. I once again apologize for all these issues.
6.0GoodCheck-in Jul 17, 2019
Perfectly fine for a one night stay.
Perfectly fine for a one night stay.
Jerry1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the GM and we will make sure your next stay is better.
2.0PoorCheck-in Oct 28, 2019
The rooms smell like cigarettes. Cleaniness of the bathroom should be improved.
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
I apologize about the issues you had while staying with us. It is unacceptable that your room smelled of cigarettes and that the bathroom was not properly cleaned. I will be bringing this to the attention of the Executive Housekeeper. I once again apologize and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 28, 2019
The room was clean and close to where we were traveling.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
4.0FairCheck-in Oct 25, 2019
Staff we not helpful. Bed was very uncomfortable. Breakfast room was filled with bus load of kids!
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unacceptable that the staff was no unacceptable. We were sold out this weekend, resulting in the breakfast area being more crowded. Thank you for the feedback.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 25, 2019
The fire alarm wake up and snooze then wake up again was not appreciated
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize about the fire alarms going off multiple times. It was an issue with the waffle maker and it was resolved as quickly as possible. I know it can be an inconvenience but it is an important safety measure for all guests. Thank you again for the feedback and hope you will stay again in the future.
4.0FairCheck-in Oct 25, 2019
Beds not clean, hair and phone charger found under sheets. Beds very uncomfortable.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unacceptable that you had these issues and I will be bringing it up to the Executive Housekeeper. Please let me know when you stayed and your name. Thank you.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 14, 2019
Great location close to job site, need to work on that continental breakfast.
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you coming again in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
Nice staff especially our housekeeper! She went above and beyond and made us feel at home.
kristen2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received quality service from the Housekeeper. I will be sure to inform the Executive Housekeeper of her staff doing a job well done. Thank you.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
Good location, close to PSU
Perfect location for visiting my PSU student. Would stay here again. A bit pricy but I think that was because of Parents Weekend.
Kimberly2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham in State College. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize about the rate, we do increase on special event weekends like Parents weekend. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to you staying with us again.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 9, 2019
Great location, close to work site, the breakfast could use some upgrading.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 By Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
Conveniant, quick service. Desk staff was very nice.
David1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 By Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 4, 2019
Good location for football weekends. However, my non-smoking room had a smell like someone smoked in it and they covered it up with some sort of spray. but the smell was in the bed and pillows and the tub had burn marks on it from cigarettes. disappointing given football weekend prices are higher than hotels in Manhattan !
JoeMac2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unacceptable that the room smelled of smoke and I will be bringing this up to the Executive Housekeeper. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you for the feedback
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 9, 2019
For $79 the best experience. Clean room and facilities, pleasant staff. Heat/air could use an update. (Did not take advantage of breakfast.)
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future. Thank you.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 27, 2019
Price was reasonable. Staff very helpful and facility clean
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to here that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 4, 2019
I liked the proximity to the university; the staff soooo friendly, their night time cookie treats and cheese and crackers as we checked in; love that it’s dog friendly; free breakfast nice but not many choices; They just need to update their decor and building It’s old and in need of new carpet/doors that don’t fit the frames property and make awful noises as you shut them and older furniture and bedding although comfortable. If need luxury this isn’t the place but I would stay again for the basics...
TS2 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jordan
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming again in the future.
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 4, 2019
The staff was tremendous however the hotel room leaves a lot to be desired. The bathroom was not pleasant. The sink and shower fixtures need to be replaced. There was some kind of buildup on the shower head that was pretty gross. For the amount of money I paid (almost $1,000) I expected a lot nicer room and bathroom. I will give your staff a 10!!
Susan2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jordan
I apologize that you the room did not meet expectations for you. I will be bringing up the issues you mentioned to the Executive Housekeeper. It is not acceptable that the bathroom was not properly cleaned. I am happy that you received quality service from the staff and hope you will give us another chance in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 3, 2019
Very clean, nice breakfast, professional friendly staff, lovely grounds. Only complaint is that half the exercise equipment was out of order.
1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jordan Williams
Thank you for staying at the Super 8 by Wyndham. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received quality service from the staff. I apologize about the issues with the exercise equipment, we are in the process of fixing it. Thank you and look forward to you coming again in the future.
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews