Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Rotorua, Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
1 room, 2 adults

Sport of Kings Motel

3.5-star3.5 stars
6 Peace Street, Fenton Park, Rotorua, 3010, New Zealand
    9.0
    Superb40 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
    reviews
    Romantic Hotel
    Rated top 1% in Rotorua
    • 9.8Service
      • Fantastic service
      • Great reception
    • 9.6Value
      • Best value for money
    • 9.5Pool
      • Great pool
    • 8.8Wellness Area
      • Great wellness & sports facilities
    Show more

    What guests say

    • Friendly service
    • Great reception
    • Clean hotel facilities
    • Hotel could use some updating

    Narrow reviews:

    40 verified guest reviews

    Guest rating

    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 30, 2020
    Great spa suite & EV charger!
    We had a great stay, the room was spacious, the spa pool was a hit with the kids and so was the heated outdoor pool. But we particularly loved the fact that they had an EV charger! So we were able to plug our car in to charge.
    M1 night family trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 18, 2019
    Speedway Escape.....
    Enjoyed our stay, room was clean and tidy on arrival, receptionist was pleasant and friendly, the area was quiet. Generally happy for the price of the room. No complaints.
    2 night romance trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 4, 2018
    A Home Away From Home
    We would have been more than happy to live in the unit we were it. It maximised the space they had available with clever design and furniture arrangements. The kitchen was fully equipped to cook in, something that many hotels will not include. The units were dated, but not uncomfortably so. It had character, and felt warm and inviting, as opposed to so modern you feel like you can’t touch anything. The people really made this place glow. We were greeted with such warmth. I’d feel at home here any time. I really can’t give you enough of an idea of how well we were treated. Especially when some people don’t agree with our lifestyle. The units included a private spa, it wasn’t as sparkling as you would expect, but that didn’t actually hold us back from enjoying it. You could tell that the markings were stubborn to remove and only a sign of old age, not uncleanliness. While not a perfect environment, the people and comfortability make this place a must stop!
    James2 night romance trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 16, 2018
    Very friendly welcome. Unit was clean and had everything we needed. Pool was heated. Enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
    Patricia2 night romance trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 15, 2018
    Amazing!!!!!
    Beat place in Vegas!! Owners sooo lovely!!!
    Andrew2 night romance trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review

    The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 15, 2020
    Very comfotable
    Great room, included a kitchen area with all the necessary bits and pieces. Also a swimming pool too.
    Graham1 night trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 17, 2020
    Really great and helpful staff. Our family loved the pool and playground area. Rooms were well equipped and we enjoyed our own spa pool. It was a little dated but overall it was a good family hotel.
    3 night family trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 27, 2020
    Good location near Maori village and redwoods; nice pool; decent size room for price; excellent service. No AC so room was too hot for comfortable sleep.
    Alan3 night romance trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 1, 2019
    Lovely operators , friendly and very accommodating. Loved the spa pool in the unit! Will be back.
    1 night romance trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 21, 2019
    The motel room was excellent and the grounds and facilities were clean and tidy and well looked after.
    3 night family trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 16, 2019
    We arrived late & left early so really only slept in the room.
    1 night family trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 7, 2019
    I loved the free delivery to the motel from the restaurant and the use of the public spa pool. The shower could do with an upgrade but overall a great stay and would recommend.
    1 night family trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 2, 2019
    Very comfortable, nice little kitchen and who doesn’t like a place that gives you milk and cookies.
    1 night romance trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 14, 2019
    Highly recommend the Sport of Kings Motel. Tristan and her staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable about where to eat and what to do in Rotorua - discounts on tours and attractions are also available at Reception. The pool was nicely heated with BBQ facilities. The rooms were comfortable - no air conditioning, but heating and fans available. I would definitely return to this motel.
    2 night family trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 2, 2019
    Fantastic customer service by lady at front desk (owner?). Lovely spa in the room. Comfortable beds. Strong sulphur smell at times but didn't deter from our enjoyable experience there. Can get hot in the room during Summer, they gave us an extra fan for the living room which was nice. Thanks, will be back, had a lovely stay.
    3 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 28, 2018
    Nice atmosphere and staff very helpful with advice about the various local attractions
    2 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 21, 2018
    Quiet motel with lovely warm, small outdoor pool, walking distance to downtown & helpful management. Comfortable recliners in room for watching TV especially when weather is unfavourable.
    Jeannette3 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 11, 2018
    We Loved the outdoor hot pool, especially the kids who turned into prunes
    1 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 29, 2018
    Clean and tidy, great in room amenities
    Great service at check in. Spa in room was great. Room was nice and clean, although a bit dated. There is a strong smell from the sulphur both in the room and outside, which is to be expected in Rotorua. Bed was very comfortable.
    Lynette3 night family trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 18, 2018
    Fabulous welcome. Lovely breakfast. Room spotless. Definitely the place to stay in Rotorua.
    Dave1 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 31, 2018
    Wonderful experience!
    My family and I (2 adults and 2 children) had a wonderful experience while staying for two nights at Sport of Kings Motel. Whenever we are in Rotorua we will definitely be returning here.
    Kiri2 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 26, 2018
    Perfect for our needs
    Great accessibility to sights, restaurants etc, very comfortable with everything that you need. Owner was very accommodating and friendly. Very reasonable price too.
    Kerry1 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 4, 2018
    Nice motel
    Nice place even though a little dated. Nice personal spa and nice communal heated pool. Provided with lovely fresh ground coffee by lovely host. Could do with a little Cleaning of out of the way places like the roller blind which had a few squished insects and dirt on it.
    Andrea2 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 15, 2018
    Everything you need and an awesome heated swimming pool that the kids loved.
    1 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 15, 2018
    Weekend in Rotorua
    Very friendly owners, rooms clean, quiet location off main street. Bonus of heated swimming pool.
    Michelle2 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 16, 2018
    Motel with very informative and helpful owners .
    I had previously read other people’s review of the hotel so was probably expecting a little different . It’s a nice basic motel room with very helpful and pleasant owners but I found the rooms to be a little tired and the beds to be extremely uncomfortable .
    Amanda2 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 13, 2017
    Night away!
    We absolutely loved our stay here right from check in to check out. The room feels very private and the hot tub is super relaxing! The outdoor pool is also private (away from the road) and the BBQ area is very cool. If we come back down to rotorua we would 100% stay here again.
    Sav1 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review
    6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 31, 2017
    Friendly staff
    extremely friendly staff, very helpful. Internet was reasonably fast. Facilities are functional and in parts slightly dated. Beds slightly lumpy for some reasons. Quiet location.
    1 night business trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 1, 2017
    Friendly and welcoming hosts.
    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Functional facilities but dated. Beds very big but lumpy. No air con.
    1 night business trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 17, 2017
    Really good to stay with kids, they loved the pool
    Had a great time staff were very helpful and friendly, kids loved the pool.
    Wendy5 night family trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 28, 2017
    Friendly, welcoming, warm unit on a cold day.
    Only stayed the one night but very pleasant. Was greeted by owner with offer of freshly ground coffee.
    Jeff1 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 3, 2017
    Awesome staff
    Friendly staff Great complex Clean and tidy Will highly recommend
    3 night trip
    Verified Expedia guest review

    The following reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 28, 2019
    Appartement très calme et idéal pour une petite famille.La propriétaire est très gentille et discrète. Petite cuisine avec tout le nécessaire.
    Ariitu5 night family trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 27, 2020
    2 night family trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 16, 2020
    1 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 19, 2019
    2 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 19, 2019
    2 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 19, 2019
    2 night trip
    Verified Wotif guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 26, 2018
    Kandi1 night family trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 24, 2017
    john2 night romance trip
    Verified Hotels.com guest review
    Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
    Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews