Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in New York, New York, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults

The Central Park North

2.5-star2.5 stars
137 W 111th street, New York, NY, 10026, United States of America
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
7.0
Good196 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 9.3Location
    • Great location
    • Close to public transport
  • 7.9Cleanliness
    • Clean
  • 7.1WiFi
    • Good internet service

What guests say

  • Close to public transport
  • Elevator in need of updating
  • Bathroom could be optimized
  • Kitchenette needs more attention

Narrow reviews:

196 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

4.0FairCheck-in Mar 9, 2020
We got locked out and the keypad to let us in didn’t work. When we called to ask for help they said we would have to wait 30 minutes. Thank god someone saw us from inside, but waiting in the cold was awful
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we apologize for the inconvenience. We immediately fixed the glitch our keypad had. Best regards, Jennifer
2.0PoorCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
It’s poorly kept. It smells like cigarettes and cocaine.
3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we are sorry to know about your dissatisfaction. Our rooms are cleaned thoroughly. Our property is non-smoking. There is a penalty for smoking inside our rooms. If at any point this happens, we ensure that our rooms are completely smoke free. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 3, 2020
Location excellent for visiting Columbia University. It's definitely South Harlem in the surrounding neighborhood. Very close to subway entrance. Room with shared bath worked well--very clean.
5 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and for giving us an excellent review. Thank you for choosing us! Best regards, Jennifer
2.0PoorCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
No washclothes one towel pp shared bathroom didnt even sleep there so disappointed!
Tracy1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Tracy, we are sorry to hear about disappointing experience. When you are reserving our rooms, on the room title and description you can read that our bathrooms are shared. We provide bath & hand towels and basic toiletries for each guest. A washcloth is a personal item that guests must bring their own. Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 25, 2020
Great location to explore New York by trains/buses and Central Park on foot. A two minutes walk to the closest subway and bus stop were the best. The "Read Me" booklet, probably the best hotel guide to exploring the city is the best booklet I have seen. Most of the time the hotel was quiet, except when the hotel hosted a noisy family with young children and a guest that slept with TV on all night and very loud :-( Great value for money!
Raymond7 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Raymond, thank you for your insight. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
Good stay
Clean, basic accommodations. Kitchenette nice feature. Friendly staff, great location. Thin walls (noisy) and shared bathrooms are what they are.
1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we are happy to know that you loved our location and staff. The Central Park North's staff does its best to provide an excellent service to our guests. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 20, 2020
Clean and location is good. Near subway but no elevator B
Jackie3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Jackie, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that you loved our location. Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
Me and my husband were okay with sharing bathrooms but Jesus why don’t people clean their hair out of the tub??? We went looking for cleaning products to clean the tub and none were there.
Ashley2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Ashley, we are sorry to hear that our shower was not clean at all times. Although our housekeepers clean showers thoroughly on a daily basis, we encourage guests to clean after themselves to ensure cleanliness for the next guest. Best regards, Jennifer
4.0FairCheck-in Feb 3, 2020
Not good was not aware we had to share a bathroom with the entire floor/guest.
LeVarr2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we are sorry to know that you were not aware of our shared bathrooms. Our listings are accurate in describing our property. Each room tittle says with "shared bathroom" Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 1, 2020
Staff was very helpful. When extra towels were needed or food recommendations they were eager to help.
1 night family trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that our staff is doing an excellent job by helping guests with their needs. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 14, 2019
Nice little boarding house old school type hotel. Big room with 2 beds, and little kitchen nook with microwave mini fridge sink table and toaster. Close to Centeral Park and subways to get around easily.
Tracy1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Tracy, thank you for your review and rating. We are pleased to know that you loved staying with us. Best regards, Jennifer
4.0FairCheck-in Dec 12, 2019
I have share bathroom with everyone and so expensive
Yan3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Yan, we are sorry to know that you did not like that we have shared bathrooms. We have it listed on each of our listings and we do everything in our hands to maintain the bathrooms clean. Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 3, 2019
Close to subway stop and very economical accommodation. It's as basic as it gets, but just what I needed for a one-night stay without my spouse. I could tell that some care went into housekeeping in spite of its age.
1 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We do our best to provide a great stay. Best regards, Jennifer
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 3, 2019
Didn’t like the location. Didn’t like the shared bathrooms Didn’t like the entry way Not enough staff at the front desk
Debbie2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Deborah, we are sorry to hear that you did not like your stay with us. We do our best to provide a pleasant experience to all of our guests. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 16, 2019
Great Place to Stay
It was very neat and clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom and shower were spotless. It was also nice and quiet. The receptionist were courteous and professional.
PHILLIP1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We value your feedback and will keep doing our best to provide a great stay to all guests. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 1, 2019
Very cozy. Small but just what we needed. Staff was friendly. Place was quiet. Good neighborhood, well lit and quiet. Close to subway made for ease of travel. Proximity to Central Park was a plus as well.
Chris1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Chris, thank you for your review and rating. We strive to provide a great stay for all guests. We hope to see you soon! Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 17, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. The place was nicely kept, clean and safe. Did not mind the 4th floor walkup we had and the shared bathroom experience was not an issue.
Paul3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Paul, thank you for your rating. We are happy to know that you loved your stay with us. Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 15, 2019
Good value for the cost. Small rooms, barely larger than the bed. Shared bathrooms, but I never saw anyone else use the one on my floor.
Peter1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Peter, thank you for your rating. We'd love to accommodate you again! Please feel welcome to check out our standard rooms. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
My family stayed in the family room and even with having to share a shower/toilet there was not any issues. The staff at the central park north were friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stop here again.
Marie3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Marie thank you for your rating. We are glad to know that you loved your stay with us. We would be more than happy to accommodate you many times more. Best regards, Jennifer
4.0FairCheck-in Oct 9, 2019
I did not like that it wasn't the way it was pictured.
Wendy2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Wendy, thank you for staying with us. You have stayed in one of our economy rooms which we have 5 rooms. All rooms are slightly different but all pictures are posted online. Best regards, Jennifer
2.0PoorCheck-in Sep 12, 2019
Never again
Never read the small print about shared bathroom and toilet but passing that there is no lifts no phone in room , basic reception, no bed lamps. Guests walking in underwear to go to toilet at night Stair case was creaky My top three of worst stays Booked out after one night and lost my money Staff at basic reception were pleasant but that’s it . Room was clean but aircon kept us up all night from noise
Emin8 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Emin, we are sorry to know that you did not like staying with us. We disclose all the information online. Our property and all of our rooms are described as is. Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 5, 2019
Don’t stay here!
We could leave our luggages there until we waited for the room which is nice. The room was nice, the restroom which is shared on the floor was clean and big too. BUT on the second night we had rat inside of our wall, scratching the walls and trying to get in our room, so we couldn’t sleep much on that night. We called the emergency line but was told that they can’t do anything. Because of this I WOULD NOT recommend staying here.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Willibaldo, thank you for staying with us. While you were staying with us a claim was made that a mouse was in the room eating your food yet there were no evidence of any rodent inside your room or food eaten. Now the version has changed and claimed you heard scratching on the walls. We have thoroughly inspected the room and there are no entry access for any pest to come into the room. Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Aug 23, 2019
Decent place in central location
This place was -fine-. The facility was clean and functional. There was no hot water in the 4th floor toilet, but otherwise everything worked as expected. For a central NYC location It is a find, even with a shared bathroom set up. As long as you are just looking for a clean place to sleep and shower in a safe neighborhood with not much else, it’s a good option.
2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We aim to provide a comforting and clean stay. We are sorry to hear about the no hot water in the shower, I have looked into it, and the hot water is working fine. Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 20, 2019
A very friendly vibe.
Very friendly service and a very comfortable stay .
Dan1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Dan, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that you had a great experience while staying with us. Our aim is to always provide a friendly environment. Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 16, 2019
The property was very homey. Definitely like an apartment. It’s not too far away from the train station. Well kept and tidy
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We do our best to provide a great stay at a great value. Thank you for staying with us! Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 10, 2019
Just Right.
Just enough of everything I needed. Comfortable bed in a cool, clean room near a spotless bathroom. All in a quiet neighborhood near excellent food.
Tim1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for your rating. We are more than happy to know that you found us comforting. We aim to provide an excellent service for a great value. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 31, 2019
It was larger and had more amenities than the brownstone hotel I stayed at last February. I liked that there was someone available to greet you at the door for most of the day. I would have preferred to not share a bathroom. The floor lamp in the room had a bad fixture (I don't think it was a bulb issue) and was only available for use for part of our stay. I like light that is not just from the ceiling to read by.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you many times more. We have checked the lamp and it will be replaced. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 24, 2019
Good location, good staff. Nice room. All is ok! Thank you
1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that you had a positive experience with us! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Jul 18, 2019
Way too small rooms!
Rooms are way too small for a couple. Not as display on the picture.
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. You have stayed in one of our small room which is an economy room. We have pictures displayed online for each corresponding room type. You are more than welcome to check out or family and standard rooms which are very spacious and accommodating. Best regards, Jennifer
6.0GoodCheck-in Jul 10, 2019
The price was right but i wished there were more shared bathrooms. The solo staff is unpredictable. Some wete nice but a few oiTher
2 night trip
Verified CheapTickets guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 3, 2019
Wonderful location and very charming. Hall bath a bit of a hassle, but not awful. Would have appreciated having toiletries provided
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying at The Central Park North. We offer free shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Best regards, Jennifer
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 24, 2019
It is easy to find it. Staffs are friendly. It is an old building, stairs are narrow, and steep. "Free Parking" is a little misleading, every street has a sign " No Parking between 11:30am - 1:00pm" .
Evergreen3 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Street parking is free but on certain days of the week, alternate parking is necessary in order for the streets to be cleaned. Best regards, Jennifer
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 20, 2019
The room was clean, service was great and a great price for the room!
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for giving us your rating. We do everything we can to give all guests a happy experience with us.
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 25, 2019
The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were kept clean. The shower was too small for even one person on the 3rd floor. The price is high for shared bathrooms but otherwise this property is kept up nicely.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback.
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 20, 2019
Didn’t like sharing the toilet with others.overall ok for a night stay.
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you for taking your time to give us a rating.
4.0FairCheck-in May 16, 2019
No coffee sugar or creamer in the room ..Had to figure out where to plug in the floor lamp could not sleep without the comforter and the room was way to hot air conditioner could not lower the temp.
R W1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear RW, we are sorry to hear that you did not like your stay with us. The housekeepers are here to help, if you ran out of coffee and creamer you could always ask them or the receptionist. Our reception hours are from 8am-10pm, and the receptionist would be happy to help you with any concerns or issues you have encountered.
6.0GoodCheck-in Apr 29, 2019
Good location, quiet, and clean. Check-in is pretty easy. The wifi was a bit slow but I suppose that might not be a priority.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 27, 2019
When we check I admitted the place is clean but the only downside I wish that we have our our bathroom as a privacy. Over all we like the place. Thank you.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make every guest happy with our services.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 18, 2019
Anyone staying here needs to understand this is not a hotel at all. You are staying in a tiny apartment in a brownstone, without hotel staff, and you are sharing a bathroom at the end of the hall. That said, the room was clean, the kitchen was decently equipped, and communications about after-hours "check-in" were relatively prompt. (You get a code to let you in the building, and pick up an envelope with your key once you're inside.) Many other reviewers said the shared bathroom wasn't clean, but I didn't find that. It probably varies depending on other guests. Last point: This is very close to an express/local stop on the 2 + 3 trains, so it's really convenient and only about 15 mins from Times Square. Overall, if you understand you're not in a "hotel" at all, this was fine.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we thank you for taking your time to review us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
6.0GoodCheck-in Apr 12, 2019
Self-check in for after hours arrivers was very helpful and convenient. However the room was close to the 111 street where many cars were on the road in late night, which is quite noisy.
JJ3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Jennifer
Dear Guest, we appreciate your rating. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you here again.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 5, 2019
There was no access for disabled. However, for the unencumbered it is very suitable
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Danielle
Dear Guest, we appreciate your rating. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you here again.
6.0GoodCheck-in Mar 20, 2019
They need to put a lamp in the rooms. Some kind of throw rugs on the floor are needed. Make it clear: walk up, no bathtub!
Ms1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Danielle
Dear Guest,                                                                                                                                                                                                           Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!   Best Regards, Danielle
2.0PoorCheck-in Mar 14, 2019
I cancelled it right there at the minute and did not stayed. Asked for a refund and they rejected. Rooms do not have restroom andshower, and are super small.
Andres2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Danielle
Dear Andres, We are sorry that you did not agree with our cancellation policy. Unfortunately, you booked a nonrefundable booking and we were unable to provide any refund. We do, however, offer date changes without penalty. Our policy is provided online as well as in our confirmation emails. Although we have shared bathroom at this location, this information is also provided online at time of booking. Thank you, Danielle
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 8, 2019
Very nice people and felt very safe allways hopefully will return and recommend
David1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Danielle
Dear David,                                                                                                                                                                                                           Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!   Best Regards, Danielle
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 26, 2019
Not enough light in the room, bathroom is shared, no elevators, in a quite neighborhood, closet to subway
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nadia
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We would really appreciate if you could let us know which room you stayed in, so we can make sure that we resolve any issues with the light. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in the future!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 17, 2019
Clean, pretty, and spacious room. Great place to stay
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nadia
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in the future.
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 19, 2019
It was a cute little hotel close to the subway and had all the amenities we needed. however the beds were not too comfortable. The first night we stayed, we had a part of the ceiling paint fall off and the dried paint went all over my luggage and clothes. I did not receive any compensation for the damage. The bathrooms are shared with other guests on the same floor which a little strange but for the price it was a decent stay,
3 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Nadia
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We apologize for the ceiling paint falling, apparently there was a slight leak from the roof and we had it fixed right after that happened. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in the future! Nadia
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 20, 2019
I loved every part of it except for the shared bathroom
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nadia
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in the future! Nadia
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 17, 2019
I'd stay again
Very clean, friendly and comfortable although a slightly 'compact' room, easy access to Central Park and local transport (bus stops and subway stations a short walk away), small shops and eaterys nearby.
EMMA3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nadia
Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in the future! Nadia
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 9, 2019
Oh, New York..
The experience its self was okay. I'm not going to go too deep about the variety of 3's and 4's I have rated on this hostel but I will say if you just are coming to New York for adventures and excursions. This is the place for you. Because all you'll need it for is to sleep and shower. Be sure to not come early unless you want to leave your belongings with the other guests. Or drop your things off at a luggage locker. Check-in is at 3pm. They mean it.
Brittany2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nadia
Dear Carly, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. For other guests we'd like to point out that you can leave luggage with us by the reception before you check in or after you check out. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in the future! Nadia
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews