Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Amsterdam, North Holland, Netherlands
1 room, 2 adults
Wibautstraat 129, Amsterdam, 1091 GL, Netherlands
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.0
Superb1,679 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Business Hotel
Rated top 2% in Amsterdam
  • 9.6Vibe
    • Awesome vibe
  • 9.3WiFi
    • Good internet service
  • 8.9Amenities
    • Great amenities
  • 7.2Comfort
    • Very comfortable
Show more

What guests say

  • Stylish hotel
  • Close to public transport
  • Beautiful architecture
  • Friendly atmosphere

Narrow reviews:

1,679 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 28, 2017
Not just for students!
We were based here for 2 nights. Easy access to city centre with stations either side of hotel. Paid for breakfast which was a great buffet with good selection. Room was spacious, bed comfortable. Eateries nearby.
Jonathan2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 12, 2020
Great location, fab staff, fun, different, just what we like!
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 8, 2020
The space within the room and the amenities available
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 2, 2020
Friendly staff always there to help. No major flaws to point out
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Great place to stay and in walking distance of my favourite places in Amsterdam. The shower's water pressure could have been better though.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 16, 2020
Frizzing rome
The rome was very cold we was frizzing all the night and the bathroom was so small
Majid1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
It’s a HOTEL not a dorm!! Don’t let the name fool you. The staff Is very friendly and helpful with directions. The rooms were quite spacious for Europe, they were like an average size Hampton Inn, but super European and clean!! The common area to hangout and have drinks & food was very social & great energy. The average age for those that stay at The Student Hotel would be around 30-40 something clientele, so don’t let the name of the hotel fool you... it’s a cool hotel!
Drea6 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 9, 2020
Cool hotel - lobby area has a very "student" vibe :). Room was spacious and clean. The hotel is right outside a metro station - very easy to get in and out of the city. Plenty of food options around the hotel too. Shower had a water monitor which is a bit tacky and no fridge in the room.
Oliver5 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
Great transport links. Staff were friendly and very helpful and the hotel was a great atmosphere and kept clean
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
Nice ambiance, friendly staff, rooms come with exactly what you need
David2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 15, 2020
It’s such a stunning hotel, it’s so far beyond what I ever expected, you’d be missing out to not stay here
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 16, 2020
Great location and really cool vibes. The room was massive and designed really well. Couldn't fault anything
K3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 12, 2020
Quirky, modern, chic room designs and a big, beautiful lobby. Loved the free coffee every morning and the gym. The seating areas down in the lobby look like a film studio - just stunning.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 11, 2020
The property was very modern and very clean. The rooms were very comfortable and home-ly. The staff were very kind and helpful
5 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 8, 2020
The automatic lights when I put the room key in the slot.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 5, 2020
the staff was very helpful and friendly . location are excellent also the supermarket near by.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 4, 2020
Good location for access to Metro but not much around in the way of restaurants and stores. One good grocery store across the street, not much else. Decent breakfast in restaurant hotel but evening a-la-carte fair at best. Pizza good, garlic bread salty as all get out, Thai salad without a hint of any Thai flavour except fish sauce, no ginger or chili. Quite a good exercise facility. All staff very nice. Wifi overloaded at times.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 29, 2019
We loved this hotel as soon as we walked in for the decor and the space. Facilities were good and location, despite being quite far from the city centre, was in a cool neighbourhood with plenty of bar and restaurant options. The bed was amazingly comfortable and huge and we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room (we took a suite as the price difference was minimal). I think the best thing though were the staff- really friendly and helpful at all times of day. Will definitely come again!
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 19, 2019
Cannot recommend the Student Hotel AMS City enough
Amazing hotel, rooms and Service. Liz (at reception) greeted with a contagious smile and a glass of prosecco and waffle - what more does one want! The rooms have a cool vibe and everything is very eco friendly. Loved our stay there :)
Simran2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 22, 2019
Very helpful and friendly staff, great facilities! We super enjoyed the table tennis and the pool
7 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 25, 2019
Beds were uncomfortable, staff were ok, seems that they gave some customers more appreciation than others. Overall an ok experience
Olly3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 14, 2019
This is not the first time I stayed at the property. It's value for money.
Nelson5 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 19, 2019
Absolutely fantastic. Perfect location for metro and tram. Will definitely return.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 13, 2019
The whole hotel was very friendly and welcoming. The whole process and stay was uncomplicated and enjoyable
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Juliana
Hello! Wow, thank you so much for your kind review! We are really happy to know you enjoyed to be here with us! Hopefully we will see you soon! Merry Christmas! Juliana Oliveira| Assistant Operations
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
Great hotel in a great location.
Adam5 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Juliana Oliveira
Hello Adam Thank you for taking time to leave us a review! We were happy to have you here! Hope to see you soon! Juliana Oliveira| Assistant Operations
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 9, 2019
The best pillows ever
A short stay for a business trip - the room was lovely, the pillow I fell in love with!
1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by juliana
Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We really appreciate when our guests have the best time even if it is short time! All the best and we hope to see you soon! Juliana Oliveira| Assistant Operations
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 6, 2019
fab hotel, very clean, rooms immaculate VERY comfy beds best sleep i’ve ever had and easy access on trams to city centre €6 for a 24 hour pass trams every 5 mins and takes about 5 mins to get there - 100% would stay again
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by ju
Hey there! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are indeed proud of our hotel and how good the location is! We love providing our guests the best they can have, therefore thank you so much for your feedback! Hopefully we will see you soon again! All the best! Merry Christmas! Juliana Oliveira| Assistant Operations
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 6, 2019
Great hotel for a younger couple / solo traveller
Great hotel for a younger couple / solo traveller. Quirky rooms (based on stay in L-Suite), but well-equipped and very clean and comfortable. Nice atmosphere around the hotel, and staff are very pleasant and helpful. The food in the Commons was good. The hotel is well placed for quick access to Amsterdam Centraal (4 stops on the Metro, 10mins, or can walk in about 30mins) and everything in between. Overall, a great stay - would recommend.
Brendan2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
I was able to check in at noon already, and so could put my stuff in my room and unpack before heading out.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 3, 2019
I had access to everything I needed on this property. Laundry, nice study spaces, and a grocery store right across the street.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 25, 2019
perfect for me and my partner
Overall a great stay at this hotel! Only four stops on the metro from central station, it’s quick to get to and only we were able to walk to the centre everyday no problem. One of the more eco conscious hotels I’ve been to, you can refill your water bottles at reception, dim lights in your room amongst other things. Great stay!
Kelly2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 18, 2019
Simple, comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff.
2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 6, 2019
Very colorful interior with a distinguisged "feeling young" atmosphere. Nothing to dislike in my opinion but a small improvement could be done in the breakfast department :)
Dimitris3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Guest Relations Manager
Hi there, Thank you for your great review and rating. We are super happy you enjoyed our concept and that you loved the atmosphere here at TSH! We are sorry that you were disappointed in the breakfast. Your feedback is important to us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the restaurant team for future improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon, if not here, at one of our amazing locations around Europe. Have a great day! The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 5, 2019
Lots of interesting knick knacks, with witty sayings on. Free to play table tennis in the game’s area just off reception.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Guest Relations Manager
Hi there, Thank you for the great comments and review! It is super nice that you enjoyed our concept and that you had great fun using the facilities and games area! We hope to welcome you back soon, if not here, at one of our amazing locations around Europe. Have a great day! The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 13, 2019
It was nice to be able to stay where are son was living. The staff were helpful and the restaurant insure was nice. The room was bigger than expected and quite comfortable.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 13, 2019
Staff made us feel so welcome and made a special effort to decorate the room as we were celebrating birthdays! Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family - so easy to get to central Amsterdam and everyone is so helpful!
Rachel4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
Great bed and facilities! Also really liked that you could get free coffee everyday! Would come back to this hotel 😀
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2019
Cool vibe
Staff and management were aMazing. Go stay here. Great vibe, clean and comfy bed, Nespresso in room. I’m so happy.
Mary2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 8, 2019
Good hotel for the price . Comfortable beds , decent breakfast , however it is a few stops away from central station on lthe metro . Good thing is metro is outside the hotel . Bathroom a bit small over all a great hotel with friendly staff . Check in Went smooth and was quick . would definitely book again
Tariq1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 3, 2019
Cleanliness and the chilled out vibe. Staff were very helpful and attentive
4 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 7, 2019
What an unbelievable place. Spacious rooms with reallu comfortable beds. The breakfast was amazing and we were so impressed that it was included. Staff was very kind and helpful. We were sad to leave. Stay at this hotel!
Justin2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 1, 2019
Very nice - amazing lobby with free barrister coffee - very good location close to tram and train
OdedMilstein3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 1, 2019
The location was great; the metro and tram are very close and easy to use. Getting the 48 hour transit pass from the hotel was very easy. There was an issue with the parking when we arrived but at the end of our visit we weren’t charged for parking. This saved us 75 euros, which was nice. The room was large and clean. It was very comfortable for the three nights that we stayed there. The bar downstairs was nice and all the staff were quite friendly.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 14, 2019
Convenient Stay
Student Hotel was good. Maybe 6 out of 10. Mom did not get her Stoopwaffel. But it was conveniently located near the metro. They had bike rentals and staff were friendly.
Matthew2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 24, 2019
ALRIGHT - BUT NOT BRILLIANT This hotel has much potential - however there are a few things that only make the service aspect ok and not excellent. - Confusion surrounding our room and the type of room booked - hotel records didn't match that of Expedia which we had to sort out. - Slow restaurant service - A bathroom that flooded every time you used the shower due to poor design - A lady who checked us in who clearly didn't want to be in her job - Confusion over where breakfast was held - one staff member said the restaurant wasn't linked to the hotel, when in fact it was. - Being left without any toilet roll from housekeeping - A TV that didn't work - we had to phone and get it fixed - A very late check in time - couldn't access the room until 3pm - Having a restaurant that claims to be 'anytime food' that couldn't serve us at 11am - Having to request a refund for a paid breakfast because it couldn't be served before 8am on a Saturday (before we had to leave for the airport) Stay here if you don't mind phoning and asking staff for help fixing things every five minutes, or if you want a more basic level of customer service with a few bits missing around the edges.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Guest Relations Manager
Hi there, Thank you for your review and rating. We are really sorry to hear that you had some technical issues during your stay with us. We want to ensure all our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us, so for this, we apologise. Your feedback is important to us to ensure we continually improve the services to our guests. I will be sure to pass on your important feedback in regards to the maintenance and technical issues in your room to our maintenance team. We are sorry you had some issues during the check-in procedure. At times with third party bookings, there can be issues with miscommunication of booking details provided. We understand the inconvenience this has caused you. I hope that our front desk team were able to assist you as fast as possible to resolve your issue. Our front desk team are always here for any questions or queries you may have. We apologise that you were not made to feel welcome and that some information was not given correctly. This is not our normal standard or the impression we want to give to our guests. Your feedback is important for future training and I will be sure to follow it up with our team. We hope that despite these issues, the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you had a great time in Amsterdam. Kind regards, The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 21, 2019
The property is unique, and modern. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 22, 2019
Easy check in, close to the city centre, right next to a metro. Excellent accommodation
KM2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Guest Relations Manager
Hi there, Thank you for your review and amazing rating! We hope you had a great stay with us and a great time in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you back soon, if not here, at one of our amazing locations around Europe. Have a great day! The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 10, 2019
We had a good time at the Student Hotel but I do think there is some room for improvement. The common areas are very studenty and cool and quirky (some of the service staff in the bar were pretty rude though) but the room itself felt like a renovated student dorm room that was missing some hotel amenities. Only one small mirror in the bathroom, the kettle was full of flies (they flew out when I opened it!) and they had a big wardrobe but nowhere to put a suitcase. It also really needed a bit of a guide in the room as to how to use the hotel facilities. We didn't realise that the coffee downstairs was free and it felt confusing how the hotel actually works. It would be great to have a little flyer or guide for guests to read about the hotel. The mattress was really comfy though and we had everything we needed.
4 night romance trip
Verified Wotif guest review
Response by Guest Relations Manager
Hi there, Thank you for your review and rating. Your feedback is important to us and we will be sure to take your comments on board. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Have a great day! The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 7, 2019
Fantastic Hotel
We stayed here for 4 nights, it is a little far to walk to the city centre but there is bike hire at the hotel which is perfect for that problem! A very relaxing and calming atmosphere. The decor in the hallways and bedroom were a little dark and dull but that’s the only thing that bothered us! other than that, clean, modern and a different styled experience! Would stay again.
Stacey4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 10, 2019
Space and comfort.
Amazing stay close to Central Amsterdam. Very spacious and modern rooms, young clientele. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxed and trendy.
Micah2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews