Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Battle, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults

The Brickwall Hotel

3-star3 stars
The Green, Sedlescombe, East Sussex, Battle, England, TN33 0QA, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.6
Fabulous59 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 10.0
  • 8.0
  • 6.0
  • 4.0
  • 2.0

Narrow reviews:

59 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 25, 2020
Nothing but praise. Great location, superb staff and service. Food very good. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The Tuder building looks fantastic frommin and outside. A memorable e night break, just a pity about the westher but that was nithingvyi do with thd hotel. We would go bsck.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 25, 2020
Worse sleep ever
Booked a double bed got two singles bed really uncomfortable, tv and internet reception was really bad, boiler in next room would kick in ever 30 mins
S3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
We were sorry to read your heading and comments. In order to trace your booking and look in to which room etc. you stayed in, please do contact us direct if you would like to discuss this further as we were not made aware of the issues during your stay to be able to assist.
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
Lovely character building. Friendly staff and clean. However, breakfast mediocre. Clearly the sausage, bacon and hash browns had been cooked in bulk in advance. As a result, both the bacon and sausage were dried out, tough and chewy. In the bedroom the shower was only half way up on the side wall. This meant showering was difficult(you couldn't stand up) aNBCd there was no screen. They could easily update this with a screen and moving the shower above the taps at head height.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments about our building and staff. We are sorry to hear that you found our breakfast mediocre and the showering was difficult. We are not able to trace your booking/room number as Anonymous but will pass your comments on to our kitchen team and are continuing with a gradual ongoing updating programme which includes some of our bathrooms. Kind regards.
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 24, 2020
Traditional character, some parking, adequate room inside.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 14, 2019
Very enjoyable stay, food was good staff were very accommodating, good venue.
Phil1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Many thanks for your comments which are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 8, 2020
the food and the service lived up to the reviews all very good. we will stay again
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Many thanks for your review and we very much look forward to seeing you again. With kind regards from us all.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 14, 2019
A restful stay wonderful food but could have done
Really enjoyed our overnight stay. In this comfy traditional hotel. Wonderful food. But need more milk and
Wendy1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by The Brickwall Hotel team
Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 2, 2019
Super Hotel
Stay was excellent and although this was the first time we have used the hotel it will not be the last. Local to Battle, staff were very helpful accomodating requests for quiet rooms and welcoming on arrival. Breakfast was superb!!
Carolone1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you very much for your 10 out of 10 review which is really appreciated. Kind regards, from all at The Brickwall Hotel
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 21, 2019
There was nothing at all to find fault with. Had a very enjoyable stay, would definitely go again
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Many thanks for your 5 out of 5 review and lovely comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, from All at The Brickwall Hotel
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 7, 2019
Had a great stay and the pub next door is a bonus. Staff mostly Italian are brilliant and the breakfast was excellent. Will definetley go back here again.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by The Brickwall Team
Many thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you here again soon! Kind regards,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 3, 2019
Who Let The Geese Out?
Enjoyable one night stay, friendly welcome, good food and drink, the breakfast was one of the best that I have had on my travels. The room was perfectly clean and had a comfy bed but I found the decor slightly plain. Apart from that I consider it a very good choice.
James1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Many thanks for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you here again soon. Kind regards,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 24, 2019
Only stayed one night but my experience was great. Staff were really friendly and very helpful. Hotel and surroundings are beautiful. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Can’t wait to stay there again soon hopefully.
Lisa1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Dear Lisa, Thank you very much for your lovely review and we really look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Kind regards from all at The Brickwall Hotel
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 19, 2019
Rooms are slightly basic and dated but they are comfortable and clean. The restaurant is excellent with great staff.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you so much for this and we hope to welcome you back soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 16, 2019
Helpful Staff
Had a good time staff very friendly and helpful.
John2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you very much and hope to see you again soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 12, 2019
polite & friendly staff.
We stayed here for my husbands 50th. Staff were very friendly, polite & accommodating. We would, without a doubt, recommend this beautiful old style hotel to anybody.
Lynda2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Dear Lynda, Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing us for your special celebrations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and really appreciate your comments about our staff who all work really hard to assist our guests. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon! Kind regards, From all at The Brickwall Hotel
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 22, 2019
We always stay at the Brickwall Hotel when in this part of the country. The staff are so very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is plentiful with a wide varied choice from the buffet table plus a freshly cooked option if desired. Lunch and dinner is always first class and silver service. The menu is changed daily with approx 5 to 6 choices for each course. It cannot be faulted. Sandwiches can also be obtained from tne bar. The hotel itself is a little tired and could be much improved with a little updating.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Many thanks for your lovely comments about our superb team and restaurant. We very much look forward to welcoming you here again. Kind regards from All at The Brickwall Hotel
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 26, 2019
We absolutely loved every minute, such an amazing property so much character. The staff were so friendly and helpful and accommodating to my daughter who loved sitting in the lounge with her drawing set and chatting away with the reception staff 😁😁. Such a peaceful setting and yet so close to the beach. Will definitely be going back and would hightly recommend.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you so much for your kind words and it was a real pleasure to meet you. We will look forward to seeing you again very soon! Kind regards, Tania Pollio
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 18, 2019
very enjoyable stay..food excellent, service excellent, plumbing needed a little updating but nothing too serious
Allan2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you so much for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping to see you again soon!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 4, 2019
Perfect from start to finish. Lovely staff, delicious food and very comfortable room. We'll definitely visit again
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you so much for your lovely words and we are thrilled you had a perfect stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you here again very soon. Kind regards, Tania Pollio
8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 23, 2019
Stay was fine, Food Good but room a little tired
peter2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us overall and feel our food is good. We are continuing with a steady updating schedule including our bedrooms as and when we can. Hoping to welcome you here again. Kind regards, Tania Pollio
8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 27, 2019
When the curtain on our room was pulled open it fell apart so my husband had to put it back together again, and the carpet needed hoovering. Apart from that our stay was a nice one the receptionist was very nice and welcoming.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you had a nice stay with us and felt welcomed here. We apologise for any issue with a curtain and will carefully check our rooms to ensure all are in working order. We hope to welcome you here again soon. Kind regards, Tania Pollio
6.0GoodCheck-in Apr 12, 2019
Could be a gem
Hotel is very dated in need of tlc, especially the bathroom and beds
Antony2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tania
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We do love our hotel very much and are currently working through a gradual and steady updating schedule in keeping with our beautiful building which will include bathrooms. Please do contact us direct if you would like to discuss your stay with us further.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 2, 2019
good location, staff helpful and efficient. Food excellent. Rooms clean and warm, plenty of power from shower. We went out of season with few other guests staying in hotel so lacked a bit of atmosphere in restaurant. Would certainly go there again.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 19, 2019
Lovely break
We enjoyed or stay in this delightfull hotel, set in a little village with geese on the green very old English. Food was very nice, and there was a lovely country pub next door, what more do you want.
Teresa2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Many thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 7, 2019
Bed is very comfortable, staff are friendly and very obliging. The breakfast is excellent, the dinners are all silver service, at a very reasonable price, and again first class
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Many thanks for your super feedback which has been shared with all of the team and makes our hard work even more worthwhile. We very much hope to welcome you here again soon.
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 22, 2019
Uninspiring and dull.
Place is very dated and menu uninspiring, although cooked reasonably well. Not happy to have pre-pack long life bacon for breakfast, either. Supposed Italian, but the only indication of this was the ridiculous way the waiters address customers as senor and senorita incessantly. Really dull place to stay, which is a shame considering its age and historical interest. Room definitely needed some investment, drab. Bathroom a bit poor condition.
Paul1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you for your comments. We offer high levels of customer service and attention to all of our guests and were sorry to read that you did not enjoy the way our lovely team of staff addressed you, and that you feel it is dull here. Although the hotel is owned and run by an Italian family, we offer a traditional British menu and do not claim to be Italian in style. We are pleased that you felt our food was cooked well but are sorry that the menu was not to your taste either. We are undergoing a gradual and steady refurbishment programme in keeping with the charm, character and history of the hotel and local area.
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 17, 2018
Looks a lovely building from the photos but most of the rooms are in a motel annex. We were moved twice before we found the "correct" table for breakfast.
Steve1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 3, 2018
A very pleasant stay, comfortable accommodation and friendly and attentive staff. Great location for Battle, Hastings and Carr Taylor Vineyards. Highly recommended.
Kim1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tania
Dear Kim, Many thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you here again very soon. Kind regards, Tania Pollio, General Manager
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 30, 2018
Lovely hotel in very pleasant surroundings. Loved sitting out on the green watching the geese squabbling.
Jum2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tania, General Manager
We are really pleased you enjoyed our hotel and watching the geese in the village!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 24, 2018
Great service, great food, quiet location
David1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tania, General Manager
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 15, 2018
Beautiful, traditional hotel
We enjoyed our one night stay here in this charming old fashioned hotel. We had dinner - silver service & a delicious, generous breakfast. We would stay here again.
Lottie1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Katherine
Hi Lottie, Thank you so much for your lovely review, I have passed your kind words on to all the staff here at The Brickwall Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future. Kind regards, Katherine
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 7, 2018
Room was upgraded but bathroom was very dated and basic had no shower only a small attachment over bath and no curtain washing hair was difficult. Bed was comfy ... pool did not look like the pics
Susanna1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tania
Dear Susanna, We are pleased that you enjoyed our comfy bed. We are undergoing a gradual refurbishment programme which will include bathrooms hoping this will address the issues raised. Many thanks for visiting us, Tania Pollio, General Manager
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 4, 2018
Relaxing overnight stay
This was a one night stay at the Brickwall hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We had been for a meal in the restaurant a number of times but this was our first overnight stay. The room was clean and comfortable & looked out on to a grassed courtyard with chairs & tables. The ensuite had a shower. There is a lovely cosy lounge for guests near reception. The restaurant dinner was excellent & waiter service exemplary. A small oversight meant we weren't given a wine list & I had to ask for wine when I was halfway through the main meal! But otherwise all was very good. Staff friendly & helpful. It is set in very tranquil surroundings & was a lovely peaceful little break for us.
Teresa1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tania
Dear Teresa, Many thanks for leaving your lovely review and thank you for choosing to stay here for your special anniversary celebrations. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards, Tania Pollio, General Manager
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 13, 2018
A lovely, lovely stay
Friendly & helpful reception & restaurant staff. Evening meal was exceptional. Very please and will definitely return with wife as this was business. 10 out of 10. Thank you
david1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Katherine
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Kind regards, Katherine
6.0GoodCheck-in Aug 7, 2018
my stay
this could be a lovely hotel with a few changes. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable, I felt as if I was sleeping on the floor. the room smelt of a wet dog had been in there. finally, the bath had purple paint all it? why?
colin1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Manager
Dear Colin, Many thanks for your feedback which we have looked into as the comfort of our guests is extremely important to us all. We are sorry that we were not given the opportunity to help with these comments during your stay or at check out. We are currently undergoing a gradual updating/refurbishment programme. We are sorry that you felt the bed was uncomfortable as it is a medium/firm high quality mattress. We are also sorry that you felt the room smelt which has been checked and is odour free. Regarding the bath there is no purple paint in it but a little ageing to the enamel which is being addressed in our ongoing improvement schedule. We hope to welcome you again here in the future. Kind regards, Tania Pollio
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 1, 2018
Chic, friendly quaint hotel tucked away!
This lovely chic, historic building was lovely to stay in. From check in to check out, the staff went above and beyond even upgrading our room to a slightly larger one without us even asking. The room itself had all amenities I would want from a hotel room and the beds were extremely large. Would 100% stay again!
Nathaniel1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jessica Thompson
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 29, 2018
Nice bedroom with king size bed .Staff friendly and food excellent. Hotel could do with a bit of updating especially the bathroom. Nice grounds if you get the good weather. Heated outdoor swimming pool.
Michael1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Katherine
Dear Michael, Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you here again. Kind regards, Katherine
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 25, 2018
Well positioned
Very pleased with all that was available. Both Bed and Breakfast superb. Thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay, and will use again. The swimming pool was an absolute delight especially on the hottest two days so far this year.
John2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Katherine
Dear John, Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you here again. Kind regards, Katherine
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 25, 2018
Hotel very convenient to the vineyard we visited close by. Staff were very good and helpful
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Katherine
Thank you for you review. We look forward to welcoming you here again. Kind regards, Katherine
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 16, 2018
..Exellent hotel for Battle area and attractions locally. We recommend the restaurant and service.
Brian2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Katherine - Receptionist
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Kind regards, Katherine
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 30, 2018
Picturesque hotel
Very friendly staff, room was lovely and very spacious with and acceptionally comfortable bed.
Lesley-Anne1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Jessica Thompson Receptionist
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 12, 2018
Two day break
Our stay was for the purpose of attending a funeral. The hotel staff couldn't have been more considerate and kind which meant a great deal to us. Very pleased with the service we experienced. Lovely little village too
WendyRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Katherine
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you here again at The Brickwall Hotel
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 8, 2018
Weekend getaway
Hotel was very convenient for touring Battle and Rye. Quiet location and a good pub a short walk away.
GregRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Katherine
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you here again at The Brickwall Hotel
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 4, 2018
Peace and relaxation
Lovely breakfast and gardens, very peaceful
EstherRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Katherine
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you here again at The Brickwall Hotel

The following reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 13, 2019
Einzigartiges historisches Gebäude, tolles Ambiente und sehr gutes Essen, sowie freundliches Personal. Zimmer allerdings mit Renovierungsbedarf.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Manager
Thank you very much.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 2, 2018
Très bon séjour
Très jolie bâtisse (d’epoque donc ne pas s’attendre à du tout moderne !), chambre propre calme et literie très confortable. Salle de bains un peu vieillotte mais propre. Super petit dej, complet (sucré, salé, choix de boissons...) dans une salle de restaurant charmante. Petit hameau de campagne, facile à trouver et proche de Hastings. Parking gratuit très appréciable.
Family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Katherine
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you here again at The Brickwall Hotel
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 6, 2019
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Thank you very much for your 5 out of 5 review which is much appreciated.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 13, 2019
Peter2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Many thanks for your review.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 2, 2019
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Thank you
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 26, 2019
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by All at The Brickwall Hotel
Thank you very much for your 10 out of 10 rating which is really appreciated by us all.
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews